

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL/TOWN FULL COUNCIL MEETING

held in the Council Chamber, The Guildhall, East Looe on Monday 8th May 2017 at 7.00pm

PRESENT Chairman – Councillor A Toms

COUNCILLORS

T Crane Mrs M Powell
J R B Dingle C Rose
M Gregory M Smith
Mrs E Hannaford T Stacey
R Hendy D Welch

OFFICERS

Mrs A Frith – Town Clerk Mrs A Keen – Assistant Clerk

IN ATTENDANCE

Mrs R Toms (Mayoress)
Miss K Bishop
Mr P Crossley
Mr M Soady

Cllr Toms gathered all Councillor and previous Councillors (Miss Bishop, Mr Crossley and Mr Soady) together for a photograph as a record of Councillors who served from 2013 to 2017.

Cllr Toms thanked previous Councillors and thanked them for their service to the Town and presented them with a small gift.

Miss Bishop, Mr Crossley and Mr Soady then left.

152. SIGNING OF DECLARATIONS OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

All Councillors present signed their Declaration of Acceptance of Office witnessed by the Proper Officer. The Chairman informed Council that Cllr David Bryan had requested an extension of time to sign his Declaration of Office and asked for Council's approval of this request. Cllr Toms proposed that an extension be granted until Monday 15th May, seconded by Cllr Gregory it was:

RESOLVED

To grant Cllr Bryan an extension of time until 15th May 2017.

450	400100IE0	1
153.	APOLOGIES Apologies were received from Cllr D J Bryan.	
	ABSENT	
	Cllr Mrs E Graham-Jones.	
154.	TO NOMINATE A MAYOR FOR THE COMING YEAR	
	Cllr Mrs Powell proposed that Cllr Toms be nominated to	
	serve as Mayor for the coming year, seconded by Cllr	
	Gregory, as there were no other nominations proposed it	
	was:	
	RESOLVED Unanimously to approve the nomination to re-elect Cllr	
	Toms to serve as Mayor for 2017/18	
	Toms to serve as mayor for 2017/10	
155.	TO NOMINATE A DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE COMING	
	<u>YEAR</u>	
	Cllr Mrs Powell proposed that Cllr Gregory be nominated	
	to serve as Deputy Mayor for the coming year, seconded	
	by Cllr Welch and, there being no other nominations proposed, it was:	
	RESOLVED	
	Unanimously to approve the nomination to re-elect Cllr	
	Gregory to serve as Deputy Mayor for 2017/18.	
	. , ,	
156.	TO RECEIVE ANNUAL REPORTS FROM COMMITTEE	
	CHAIRMEN	
	<u>.1 Finance & General Purposes Committee (See attached</u> Appendix "A").	
	This report had been previously circulated to all, there	
	were no questions asked.	
	.2 Tourism and Amenities Committee (See attached	
	Appendix "B").	
	This report had been previously circulated to all, there	
	were no questions asked.	
	.3 Planning and Public Consultation Committee (See attached Appendix "C").	
	The report had been previously circulated to all, there	
	were no questions asked.	
	•	
157.	TO DISCUSS THE ABSENCE OF MRS GRAHAM-	
	JONES The Clark explained to Council that all Councillors had to	
	The Clerk explained to Council that all Councillors had to sign their Declaration of Acceptance of Office at the	
	beginning of this meeting unless a request for an	
	extension of time has been requested and approved,	
	failure to do so would result disqualification according to	
	the Electoral Commission.	
	In the absence of any apology for absence or explanation	
	from Mrs Graham-Jones the Clerk asked for Council to	
	consider whether they wished to grant an extension to her	
	or not. There was some discussion regarding Mrs Graham-	
1	There was some discussion regarding ivits Grandin-	

	Jones' attendance record and involvement in Council business, Cllr Crane proposed that no extension be granted, seconded by Cllr Rose it was: RESOLVED Unanimously that no extension of time be granted to Mrs Graham-Jones. The Clerk was asked to inform Mrs Graham-Jones that	
	she is no longer a Councillor and to inform Cornwall	
	Council of the situation.	
158.	TO ADJOURN THE ANNUAL MEETING AND MOVE TO	
	THE TOWN MEETING	
	Cllr Toms proposed that the Annual Meeting now be	
	adjourned, seconded by Cllr Gregory it was:	
	RESOLVED	
	Unanimously to adjourn the Annual Meeting and move to	
	the Town Meeting at 7.10pm	

Signed	 	 	
Date	 	 	

AGENDA ITEM NO 3



MINUTES OF THE TOWN MEETING

held in the Council Chamber, The Guildhall, East Looe on Monday 8th May 2017 at 7.10pm

PRESENT Chairman – Councillor A Toms

COUNCILLORS

T Crane Mrs M Powell
J R B Dingle C Rose
M Gregory M Smith
Mrs E Hannaford T Stacey
R Hendy D Welch

OFFICERS

Mrs A Frith – Town Clerk Mrs A Keen – Assistant Clerk

1.	MAYOR'S ADDRESS - SEE ATTACHED APPENDIX	
	"A".	
	The Mayor stated that his report had been previously	
	circulated and asked if there were any questions, there	
	were none.	
	Cllr Toms presented all Councillors who had served the	
	Council from 2013 to 2017 with a small gift of personal	
	thanks and he then invited Cllr Mike Smith, the newly	
	elected Councillor, to give a short resume of himself.	
	Cllr Smith informed that, although he hasn't been in	
	Looe for that long, he is involved with the RNLI as	
	Fundraising Chair and Friends of Kilminorth Woods.	
	He also works one day a week as a volunteer for the	
	National Trust and various other voluntary work.	
	He has previously served on a Parish Council in Sussex	
	and is keen to work with us for the benefit of Looe.	
	Cllr Toms welcomed Cllr Smith to the Council.	
2.	TO RECEIVE QUESTIONS FROM LOCAL ELECTORS	
	No local electors were in attendance.	
3.	TO CLOSE THE TOWN MEETING	
	Cllr Toms closed the Meeting at 7.20pm and invited all	
	present to remain for refreshments.	

Signed	
Date	